Fitzpatrick: No Bonuses for Government Execs

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-8) issued a statement Tuesday following the introduction of HR 2222:

“As Congress begins its annual appropriations process amid the constraints of tighter budgets and reduced spending, I’ve introduced legislation that would ensure that certain government employees aren’t collecting bonuses at a time of fiscal restraint in Washington and around the nation.

Even with the restrictions of the sequester, Senior Executive Service (SES) officials within the Executive Branch are slated to collect millions of dollars in bonuses. While the Administration has frozen most bonuses for federal government workers, “current law mandates that agencies pay bonuses to SES employees.” Between 2008 and 2011 SES employees collected $340 million in bonuses.

SES employees are executives within the various federal agencies, and make up less than 1% of the federal workforce.  However, between 2008 and 2011, they received more than 4% of the federal bonus dollars.  Additionally, federal spending on bonuses has outpaced growth of the SES, with spending on SES bonuses increasing 7% between 2008 and 2010.

 The bill “To prohibit performance awards in the Senior Executive Service during sequestration periods” would simply freeze SES bonuses during the sequester like the government has frozen pay and bonuses for thousands of other federal employees.

Taxpayers shouldn’t be footing the bill to give bonuses to certain federal employees when agencies and other employees are forced to make tough choices to prioritize spending.”

Introduced along with Congressman Mark Meadows (R-NC), HR 2222 is the House companion to S. 986, which was authored by Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Tom Coburn (R-OK) and Ron Johnson (R-WI).


Congressman Mike Fitzpatrick is serving his third term in the U.S. House of Representatives. He represents Pennsylvania’s 8th district which includes all of Bucks County as well as a portion of Montgomery County. He serves as the Vice Chairman of the House Financial Services Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations.