(Original Signature of Member)

119th CONGRESS 1st Session

H. J. RES.

Establishing that it shall be the policy of the Government of the United States to recognize the sovereignty, independence, and territorial integrity of Ukraine within that nation's internationally recognized borders as established in 1991.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Mr. FITZPATRICK introduced the following joint resolution; which was referred to the Committee on _____

JOINT RESOLUTION

- Establishing that it shall be the policy of the Government of the United States to recognize the sovereignty, independence, and territorial integrity of Ukraine within that nation's internationally recognized borders as established in 1991.
- Whereas the United States reaffirms its unwavering commitment to Ukraine's sovereignty, independence, and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders as established in 1991;
- Whereas Russia has illegally and forcibly occupied and annexed Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia, and Kherson;

- Whereas, since 2014, Russia has flagrantly violated the United Nations Charter and international law through its war of aggression and illegal occupation;
- Whereas the United States upholds the principle of ex injuria jus non oritur—illegal acts create no legal rights—and that no unlawful act can become legal through force, coercion, or passage of time;
- Whereas Ukraine's borders and lands remain Ukrainian regardless of any act of war, coercion, or political manipulation; and
- Whereas, as with the Welles Declaration of 1940, the United States categorically rejects Russia's territorial claims made through aggression and sham referenda: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives
 - 2 of the United States of America in Congress assembled,
 - 3 That it shall be the exclusive policy of the Government
 - 4 of the United States to not recognize, nor commit any ac-
 - 5 tion that implies recognition of, claims made by the Russia
- 6 Federation over the sovereign Ukrainian territories it oc-
- 7 cupies, including but not limited to Crimea, Donetsk,
- 8 Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia, and Kherson.