WASHINGTON – Congressional Ukraine Caucus Co-Chairs Reps. Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Mike Quigley (D-Ill.) and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.) on January 16 released a statement after introducing a resolution expressing bipartisan support for Ukraine and its people.

This vital and time-sensitive measure reaffirms the United States’ strategic interest in strengthening liberty and democracy in Europe, a feat which is not possible without U.S. support for Ukraine in its fight to counter Russian aggression, said a news release from the Congressional Ukraine Caucus.

“As co-chairs of the bipartisan Congress­ional Ukraine Caucus, we are pleased to introduce this bipartisan resolution reaffirming U.S. support for the Ukrainian people and Ukraine’s democratic trajectory, free from Russian malign influence,” said the co-chairs.

“As Russia’s democracy sadly deteriorates before our eyes with President Vladimir Putin’s recent power grab, Ukraine continues to take action strengthening its democratic institutions. As members of Congress, we commend the Ukrainian people’s resilience and accomplishments in the face of Russian aggression. Ukraine’s success will only boost U.S. national security interests in the region and globally,” they noted.