LANGHORNE, PA – Today, September 19, 2022, Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01) announced the Newtown Fire Association and Bensalem Rescue Squad have received FY 2021 Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG) from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to enhance their response capabilities and to more effectively protect the health and safety of the public and emergency response personnel from fire and other related hazards.

Newtown Fire Association received a total of $177,072.72 and Bensalem Rescue Squad received a total of $271,304.54. These grants will be used for Operation and Safety through the AFG Program. The purpose of the AFG Program is to award grants directly to fire departments, nonaffiliated emergency medical services (EMS) organizations, and State Fire Training Academies to enhance their ability to protect the health and safety of the public, as well as that of first-responder personnel. Using a competitive process that is informed by fire service subject matter experts, grants are awarded to eligible applicants whose applications best address the priorities of the AFG Program. Since fiscal year FY 2001, the AFG Program has awarded approximately $7.7 billion in grants to provide critically needed resources. The total amount appropriated for the FY 2021 AFG Program initiative is $460 million.

“From facing critical staffing shortages to financial struggles, our local fire departments and EMS units have faced unique challenges over the last decade.” said Fitzpatrick. “These grants are essential for the many Bucks County residents that rely on these services to keep them safe. As the as a Co-Chair for the Congressional Fire Services Caucus and certified EMT, I am proud to support our local fire departments and the AFG grant programs.”

Currently, FEMA is on round 8 of the competitive FY 2021 AFG announcements and will continue to announce AFG grants on a weekly basis. This program is administered by the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency in cooperation with the U.S. Fire Administration.