Fitzpatrick Recognized for Environmental Leadership

Freshman Rep. Named 2017 Climate Leadership Award Recipient

June 15, 2017

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-08) has been named the 2017 recipient of the Climate Leadership Award for his ‘extraordinary leadership and bold commitment to environmental stewardship.’ The recognition, presented by the bipartisan Citizens’ Climate Lobby, is given to a member, or members, of each party to acknowledge their outstanding commitment and leadership on climate and environmental policy.

“Washington needs independent voices now more than ever – especially when it comes to the environment and public health,” said Fitzpatrick accepting the award Tuesday evening. “Leaders on both sides of the aisle must take serious and reasonable steps to protect our planet. While there is room for debate and discussion on the issue, it is vital that we never politicize protecting our environment or let partisanship prevent Washington from accomplishing common goals.”

"Congressman Fitzpatrick showed us what leadership looks like when he asked the president to remain committed to the Paris climate agreement," said Citizens' Climate Lobby Executive Director Mark Reynolds. "The partisan impasse on climate change is about to end, thanks to members like him."

Fitzpatrick is a member of the bipartisan Climate Solutions Caucus. Formed in 2016, the caucus is a bipartisan group in the US House of Representatives which explores policy options that address the impacts, causes, and challenges of our changing climate. It is chaired by Congressmen Carlos Curbelo (R-FL) and Ted Deutch (D-FL).

Other 2017 award recipients include Congressman John Delaney (D-DE), Congresswoman Mia Love (R-UT) and Congressman Alan Lowenthal (D-CA).