WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, October 27, 2020, Representatives Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Nita Lowey (NY-17), Chris Smith (NJ-04), Eliot Engel (NY-16), Kay Granger (TX-12), Ted Deutch (FL-22), Randy Weber (TX-14), and Marc Veasey (TX-33), the Co-Chairs of the House of Representatives Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism, issued the following joint statement to mark two years since the shooting at the Tree of Life Synagogue that killed 11 Jewish worshippers:

We remember the 11 individuals killed while praying on Shabbat morning at the Tree of Life Synagogue in what is the deadliest attack on the American Jewish community in its history. They were targeted because of their faith by a gunman inspired by antisemitic and white supremacy ideology.

Two years later, antisemitic incidents, including violent attacks, have continued in communities from Poway to New York City. Antisemitism has also surged online, particularly on social media platforms where Jewish youth are commonly harassed and intimidated. We will not stand by while Jewish communities across the country are vulnerable and feel unsafe.

We are committed to combating antisemitism in all its forms, and on this solemn day, we urge our colleagues and all Americans to help us eradicate antisemitism from our country.