WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Representatives Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01) and Kathleen Rice (NY-04) introduced a bipartisan resolution that supports the official designation of the week of November 15, 2021, as National Apprenticeship Week. The resolution recognizes the important role that apprenticeships play in developing a highly skilled workforce and commends the businesses and organizations that actively support apprenticeship programs. 

In 2015, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) celebrated the first National Apprenticeship Week with more than 200 events around the country. This year, there are nearly 900 DOL-registered events happening nationwide, highlighting the potential for apprenticeship programs to put more American workers on a path to new skills, higher wages, and greater opportunities to advance their careers. 

“I am proud to join my bipartisan colleagues in introducing this resolution to celebrate the value and importance of apprenticeships,” said Rep. Fitzpatrick. “In a time when our country is facing pressing workforce challenges, apprenticeship programs can grow our economy and close the skills gap by providing on-the-job training that will prepare the next generation of workers for in-demand, high paying careers.” 

“Apprenticeships ensure that workers are career-ready and set up for long-term success,” said Rep. Rice. “This week is about raising awareness and expanding the reach of these critical workforce development programs that provide the strong foundation our economy needs for sustained growth. I’m proud to lead this bipartisan resolution with my colleagues in Congress, and I commend the Biden Administration and Secretary Walsh for their continued commitment to strengthening our nation’s apprenticeship programs.”  

Original cosponsors of the resolution include U.S. Representatives Cindy Axne (IA-03), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Anthony G. Brown (MD-04), Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), André Carson (IN-07), Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05) Angie Craig (MN-02), Jason Crow (CO-06), Jahana Hayes (CT-05), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), James R. Langevin (RI-02), Brenda L. Lawrence (MI-14), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), Scott Peters (CA-52), Tim Ryan (OH-13), David Scott (GA-13), Mark Takano (CA-41), and Frederica Wilson (FL-24)  

The text of the resolution can be found here.