foot of the capitol


The Bipartisan Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Task Force was established in 2021 by merging Rep. Trone’s Freshmen Working Group on Addiction with the Bipartisan Opioid Task Force, which was co-chaired by Reps. Kuster and Fitzpatrick in the 116th Congress. Today, the Task Force is comprised of more than 140 Members working across the aisle to combat the mental health and substance use disorder epidemics in American communities. In the 117th Congress, the Task Force successfully passed 26 of its bills into law, all of which were led or co-led by both a Republican and a Democrat. It will host regular meetings with stakeholders, attend site visits, and create policies that will save lives. 

"The mental health and opioid epidemics sweeping across Pennsylvania and our nation have only been further compounded by the COVID-19 pandemic. The pandemic has created new barriers for our citizens with pre-existing mental illnesses and substance use disorders and generated new issues for our citizens previously unaffected,” said Co-Chair Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick. “Our Bipartisan Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Task Force team is ready to educate, raise awareness, and take immediate action to provide support and hope to the millions of struggling people across our country. "

Co-Chairs for 118th Congress:

  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-1)
  • Rep. Ann Kuster (NH-2)
  • Rep. Lisa McClain (MI-9)
  • Rep. David Trone (MD-6)

The 2023 legislative agenda can be found here.

Legislation & Press Releases